Monday, February 4, 2013


Nominees for the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Council and its Veterinary Nurses Council have been announced, with 13 candidates for the former and four for the latter.

Two BEVA members will be standing for election. Chris Tufnell of Coach House Vets in Berkshire is a current RCVS Council Member, looking for re-election and Thomas Witte from the RVC who is looking to be elected to Council this year.

Nominations closed on 31 January, and the full list of those standing are as follows:

RCVS Council

- Niall Connell

- Jeremy Davies*

- Robert Ellis

- Lewis Grant

- Christopher Gray*

- Peter Jinman*

- Thomas Lonsdale

- Peter Robinson

- Christopher Sturgess

- Paul Torgerson

- Christopher Tufnell*

- Bradley Viner*

- Thomas Witte

* denotes current RCVS Council member

VN Council

- Susan Badger

- Andrea Jeffery*

- Amy Robinson

- Helen Tottey

* denotes current VN Council member


Candidate information and manifestos will be circulated to veterinary surgeons and veterinary nurses during early-to-mid March, and votes will close on 30 April 2013. They will also be available online in due course.

As with previous years, votes can be made by text, online and via the post.

A webinar-style hustings event is under development for the RCVS election candidates - more information will be available shortly.


This post was last updated on