Wednesday, March 14, 2012


The RCVS Council elections opened on the 9th March - This year there are six veterinary candidates with "equine credentials", five of whom are BEVA members, and one BEVA member standing for the VN Council. Read the candidates manifestos and vote to ensure that our sector of the veterinary world is appropriately represented in the corridors of power.

All veterinary surgeons and veterinary nurses eligible to vote, should now have received ballot papers. Votes must be received by 5pm on 27 April 2012 and, as in previous years, can be cast online, by post, or by text message.

A record number of veterinary surgeons - 14 - are contesting six seats in the RCVS Council election. Veterinary surgeons may each vote for up to six candidates to fill these seats, which fall vacant as elected Council member's terms of office expire at the RCVS Annual General Meeting (6 July). In 2012, five existing Council members are seeking re-election, and nine new candidates are standing.

Of the 42 RCVS Council members, four are appointed by the Privy Council, 14 by the veterinary schools and 24 by direct election; each member serves a four year term. This year's RCVS Council candidates who are BEVA members are:

1.   Mr Charles Gruchy VetMB MA MRCVS

2.   Mr Christopher House BVetMed MRCVS

3.   Dr Barry Johnson BVSc DVSc (h.c.) MRCVS

4.   Prof Stephen May VetMB MA PhD DEO DVR DipECVS FRCVS

5.   Mr Richard Stephenson BVMS CertVR CertEP MRCVS

Three veterinary nurses, including one BEVA member, are standing in the VN Council, and VNs may vote for up to two candidates to fill the two available seats. One candidate is a current member of the RCVS VN Council seeking re-election. Of the 17 members comprising RCVS VN Council, eight are elected veterinary nurses, six are veterinary surgeon members (including three from RCVS Council), and there is one Lantra representative and two lay members. Each elected VN member is appointed for a four-year term.  This year's candidate who is a BEVA member is:

1.     Mrs Elizabeth Figg REVN

"If the number of candidates standing is a measure of interest in the elections, the turnout should be higher this year," says Gordon Hockey, Acting Registrar of the RCVS. "So please do read the candidates' manifestos and vote - it's your chance to say who you think the best people are for the job."

Voting instructions and candidate manifestos are enclosed with the ballot papers; candidates voting by text or online will need the two-part security code from this paper. Any veterinary surgeon who has not received their ballot paper should contact Ian Holloway (020 7202 0727 for an official duplicate; veterinary nurses missing their ballot papers should contact Annette Amato (020 7202 0713

All votes must be received before 5pm on 27 April 2012


This post was last updated on