Thursday, October 17, 2019

BEVA are pleased to announce this year’s award winners, honouring outstanding contributions to the equine veterinary field. We congratulate the below for their insightful and influential research.


The Sam Hignett Award is given each year at BEVA Congress for the best clinical research presentation from general equine practice. This year the award has been given to Callum Haseler for his abstract entitled “Does Intra-Articular Triamcinolone Treatment Increase the Incidence of Acute Laminitis”. Callum will receive a free ticket to AAEP 2020 taking place in Las Vegas.


This year’s Voorjaarsdagen Award is presented to Anna Johnston for her abstract “Using Time-Series Analysis to Enhance Musculoskeletal Injury Surveillance in Thoroughbred Racehorses”, as her prize she will receive free entry to Voorjaarsdagen Congress 2020 where she will have the opportunity to present this abstract once again. The Voorjaarsdagen and BEVA award marks the close relationship between the two Associations. The two awards are selected and presented biannually, once at the Voorjaarsdagen Congress and once at the BEVA Congress.


For more information on our awards and to view previous winners please click here.

This post was last updated on